Skip to content
Climate Change Laws of the World logo globeClimate Change Laws of the World logo text


Federative (29 states, 7 Union Territories, including a National Capital Territory)
Political Groups
G77, G20
Global Climate Risk Index
World Bank Income Group
Lower middle income
Share of Global Emissions


Featured searches

Indonesia - Views on Elements for the Consideration of Outputs of the Global Stocktake, Submission to the Global Stocktake from Indonesia in 2023

  • In India's Interim Budget 2019-2020, the Finance Minister flagged ten points from the 'Vision for the Decade', which included having a pollution free India with green Mother Earth and Blue skies, improving water management and having a blue economy.Economy-wide · Target year: 2029Source: Union Budget 2019-2020 and up to 2023
  • The finance minister welcomes a programme for scaling up LED bulbs across households on a widespread level. This will reduce energy usage in India.Energy · Target year: 2029Source: Union Budget 2019-2020 and up to 2023
  • In India, sustainable solid waste management systems are to be expanded to every village throught he Swachh Bharat Mission.Waste · Target year: 2029Source: Union Budget 2019-2020 and up to 2023
  • Objectives of smart meters mandates by 2017, 2019 against a 2016 baselineEnergy: Energy Efficiency · Target year: 2019Source: Tariff Policy 2006
  • Mandatory percentage of energy from Waste-to-Energy plants by distribution licensees by 2017 against a 2016 baselineEnergy: Renewable Energy: Waste · Target year: 2017Source: Tariff Policy 2006

Legislative Process

The Indian parliament is a bicameral legislature composed of a Lower House (the House of the People), and an Upper House (the Council of States).

The legislature passes laws – also called “acts” – on constitutionally-specified matters, such as central government finances and constitutional amendments. The two houses have the same powers, but the Council of States’ power in the legislative process is subordinate to the House of the People. All legislative proposals have to be brought in the form of Bills before Parliament. A Bill as a draft statute becomes law after it has received the approval of both Houses of Parliament and the assent of the President.

There are 29 States and seven Union territories in the country (In June 2014, Telangana became the 29th state, consisting of the 10 north-western districts of Andhra Pradesh). The system of government in states closely resembles that of the Union territories. Each State Government has the freedom to draft its own laws state subjects. Laws passed by the national Parliament and other pre-existing central laws on subjects classified as central subjects are binding on all citizens.