Climate Change Laws of the World will soon be upgraded to be AI powered, see full announcement
United Kingdom flag
United Kingdom

National Adaptation Programme (last version covering 2018-2023)

legislation type Executive
Adaptation Framework
Passed in 2013
The National Adaptation Programme (NAP) document - covering England only - sets out a register of actions agreed under the programme, aligns actions being taken with the risks identified in the 2012 Climate Change Risk Assessment (CCRA), and establishes timeframes for actions according to different themes.
 The NAP sets out actions according to six themes:
 - Built environment
 - Infrastructure
 - Healthy and resilient communities
 - Agriculture and forestry
 - Natural environment
 - Business and local government.
 The NAP identifies actions to be taken by the government, as well as by local governments, the private sector and civil society. The NAP focuses on particular areas of particular importance, guided by the CCRA's assessment of the magnitude, confidence and urgency scores assigned to particular risks.
 The NAP also sets out four overarching objectives to address the greatest risks and opportunities arising due to climate change:
 - Increasing awareness
 - Increasing resilience to current extremes
 - Taking timely action for long-lead time measures
 - Addressing major evidence gaps.
 On July 19th, 2018, a second version of the National Adaptation Programme was released. This version covers the period 2018-2023.


from the Grantham Research Institute
from the Grantham Research Institute
Publication banner
Climate Change Laws of the World uses cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more about cookies >>